My Coffee Heart Project

“Passion Heart,” in progress, 6x6inches, mixed media, copyright 2012 Shelley M. House.

I’m having lots of fun with my new Coffee Heart project, using clay, coffee beans, buttons, marbles, and other objects I find around the house. Spiral patterns are emerging as I create, representing not only a connection with the natural world, but also a simple form of labyrinth.

A little reorganizing around the house has allowed me to make a nice space to work, plus uncovered a large supply of items to repurpose for my art.

Buttons!

I start with a color scheme. Picking through the button pile is my favorite part!

I found that a meat hammer works well for shaping the clay, and creates a nice grid pattern to follow with small beads.

“Serenity Heart,” in progress, 6x6inches, mixed media, copyright 2012 Shelley M. House.

You can find some of my Coffee Hearts on display now through September at Cool Beans on 31 Mill Street (Marietta Square), Marietta, Georgia, and at the Marietta Square Artists Market this Saturday from 9am-2pm, right outside Cool Beans.

Sharing the coffee love at Cool Beans.

Leave a Reply

