Glover Park Fountain — The Day They Had Free Ice Cream

Summer has officially arrived! The kids are out of school, and the June Art Walk is less than a week away. I’m excited to have completed my drawing of the fountain in Marietta Square.

"Glover Park Fountain," 9x12inch; Tombow brush pen, Stabilo pen & watercolor pencil; copyright 2011 Shelley M. House.

I normally don’t have the patience for plein air sketching, but I’m trying to change that. The initial sketch of the fountain took about 45 minutes.

Study for "Glover Park Fountain," copyright 2011 Shelley M. House.

I went back to the Square the same day for the Brown Bag concert with free ice cream to celebrate National Travel & Tourism Week. I added balloons to capture that festive “FREE ICE CREAM!” feeling, and my squiggly lines went in pretty quickly after that.

Study for "Glover Park Fountain," copyright 2011 Shelley M. House.

Next came the coloring in with pens and pencils. This took at least 10 hours. My sketchbook went everywhere with me this past month.

Study for "Glover Park Fountain," copyright 2011 Shelley M. House.

The most time-consuming part was adding shadows to my squiggly lines. I liked the depth that it added when I tried it on my Good Day Sunshine drawing.

Detail of "Glover Park Fountain," 2x2in., copyright 2011 Shelley M. House.

I’d like to thank the friendly folks at Rubber Stamp Fantasy for their helpful suggestions. They even sell the Tombow brush pens I like to use — just two blocks away from the gallery! Now I’ll never have an excuse not to be drawing.

My new fountain drawing will be on exhibit at the next First Friday Art Walk at Marietta Square, June 3, 2011, 5-9pm. I’ll be at the Art Forum at DuPre’s Antique Market. See you there!

Leave a Reply

