I’m a Fool for Flowers

Spring is here, and I’ve been inspired to start a new series of flower drawings. I hope to have 12 done by April 1st to put in my folding screen for the next Art Walk.

This is a detail from “Autumn Bellflower:”

"Autumn Bellflower" detail, 1.5x1.5inch; Tombow brush pen, Stabilo pen & watercolor pencil; copyright 2011 Shelley M. House.

Here is a detail from “Iris,” before it was colored in:

"Iris" detail, 2x2 inch, Tombow brush pen, copyright 2011 Shelley M. House.

I am trying out some new fine point Stabilo pens to color in my drawings. Along with my colored pencils, I think they add an interesting texture to the background.

I hope to see you all at the next First Friday Art Walk at Marietta Square, coming up April 1, 2011. The Art Forum at DuPre’s Antique Market will be open extended hours to host Artists Alley, from 5pm to 9pm.

Leave a Reply

