Tools of the Trade: Brush Pen Update

I have written before about my favorite brush pen, the Staedtler Mars Graphic 3000 Duo. They are becoming harder to find in the art stores nearby, so I am trying two new pens this week: the Tombow ABT Dual Brush Pen, and the Faber-Castell PITT Big Brush Artist Pen.

The Tombow is most like the Staedtler Mars, with a soft brush tip on one end, a fine tip on the other, and acid free water-based ink that works like watercolor paint. The PITT Big Brush has a single brush tip with waterproof Indian ink. Although the PITT pen has a nice range, from fine to thick lines, I prefer the Tombow for the type of linework I do. It’s brush tip is more flexible, with a more sensitive touch, and I like the watercolor look.

Here is a detail from a current work in progress, my Orange Blossom Series, using a Light Vermillion Staedtler Mars and a Sepia Tombow.

Leave a Reply

