Star Signs

I tend to find the greatest beauty in the most random of doodles. I was inspired to create a moon drawing during a recent early-morning walk. The stars were twinkling in the sky, and the pretty sliver moon was resting sleepily in the tree branches. I sketched several cresent moons, but I couldn’t get the shape right. In frustration, I surrounded my moons with some quick star doodles. I found these random squiggles to be the best-looking thing on the page! It seemed like a sign to keep doodling, and stop trying quite so hard.

9 Responses to “Star Signs”

  1. Zachary Jean Says:

    They look like a brand new language you have invented! or perhaps a pathway one must follow into another realm. Either way, there is magic here. Bravo!

  2. shelleymhouse Says:

    Thank you Zachary! It would be fun to find someone who could translate them 🙂

  3. Zachary Jean Says:

    perhaps we can! but whether the translation could find words in english is perhaps another issue. in any language it is marvelous!

  4. sittingpugs Says:

    Somewhere in Atlanta, there is a coffee shop that should have this one as wall art.

    • shelleymhouse Says:

      Thank you! I haven’t made a print of this yet, but I’m thinking of expanding on the series to create a slideshow for a digital frame. I have a digital frame showing at the Apache Cafe right now, and I’m really excited about that format to show my digital art.

  5. Kelly Says:

    i was relating to what you wrote about this.. wishin i was you out early for one., and looking up at the moon, its one my most favorite things… and to see how you came up with the stars, i do love them, and the message of not trying so hard, simple but profound.. and in your art , anyones art.. that is such a great message, thanks for sharing so much!


Leave a Reply

