Temptation

If you are unfamiliar with Monkey Cups, they are carnivorous plants, also known as Pitcher Plants. The pitchers are actually highly specialized leaves that act as passive pitfall traps for little insects who are tempted by the nectar inside.

5 Responses to “Temptation”

  1. Camilla Says:

    I like your blog a lot! šŸ™‚

  2. viv66 Says:

    My brother has a small collection of carninvorous plants; they’re harder to grow than most houseplants.
    I once found a patch of sundews in a bog; it was terribly disappointing as I’d expected them to be huge and they are minute.
    I didn’t know pitcher plants were also known as monkey cups; learn something new every day!

  3. shelleymhouse Says:

    Hi Viv! I read that monkeys actually do drink out of them. I also read that they are easier to grow than venus fly traps. But I don’t expect I’ll be growing a carnivorous garden soon šŸ™‚

  4. shelleymhouse Says:

    Thank you, Camilla! Nice to meet you.

  5. viv66 Says:

    I had a Venus fly trap when I was a kid. My brother killed it by over feeding it with bluebottles. Almost poetic, really!
    Fantasy author Terry Pratchett did have a collection of carni plants, but whether he still does, I don’t know.
    I’d love to see a monkey drinking from one; that’d be so cool to see!


Leave a Reply

